top of page
  • Aidan Thomas Jones

Ollie Banks: “We are not in this league now to consolidate"

New Tranmere Rovers signing Ollie Banks has revealed that he is very optimistic ahead of the new season.


Banks believes that there is no maximum goal for the coming season, and states that everyone knows that there is no reason why Tranmere Rovers cannot challenge in the next campaign.


The midfielder has played in League Two and does believe that there is always a chance of success given the structure of the league.


“We are not in this league now to consolidate. We want to go again. There is no reason why this squad of players cannot go for it next season.” Ollie Banks said.

“There is a chance to get out of League Two.

"With the three automatic promotion places and with the good team spirit which we have here at Tranmere, there is no limit to our goal.”

On a personal level, Banks just wants to settle in as well as he did in his previous spell with the club.


The midfielder spent the last part of 2017 with Tranmere Rovers before being recalled to his parent club Oldham Athletic.


“I always aim to try and get 10 goals a season, if I can. I just want to come and make a positive impact like I did on my loan spell. He said.


“I want to help the players around me and hopefully they can help me and it can be a successful season for the team.


“It is a big club with a stadium to match, and I am hoping that it will bring the best out in me.”


Banks is a massive fan of the supporters at Prenton Park and believes that the numbers will only increase now the team are back in the EFL.


Rovers were promoted via the playoff final at Wembley with a 2-1 heroic win against Boreham Wood.


"I cannot wait to come and play my football in front of the Tranmere fans.


“In the few games which I have played in, the noise around the stadium, gets you going and pushes you on.


“Tranmere have a massive fan base, the support at home is brilliant and the support away, even those which might be a long trip for the fans is even better.


"I am sure that will only increase now we have been promoted to League Two.”


The former Chesterfield man believes that there is a positive atmosphere around the club which has been set over the past year.


Banks is adamant that both he and the team want to continue where they left off last season, and carry the winning mentality into the next challenge.


The Rovers are very much looking forward to League Two football next season but there will always be an element of pressure.


“Tranmere are used to winning games and are full of confidence following the season just gone, and are wanting to do big things and carry on that winning habit. I am really happy to be a part of that now.”


“You do need to deal with pressure, because Tranmere Rovers is a massive club at this level and there will be expectations that will need to be met, and it pushes us on as players.”

1 view0 comments
bottom of page