top of page
  • Aidan Thomas Jones

EXCLUSIVE: OLLIE BANKS TALKS TRANMERE FINALS, AND THE FUTURE.

Former Tranmere Rovers loanee Ollie Banks has “every faith” that Tranmere will go and get the victory against Boreham Wood in the National League Play-off final on Saturday.


Banks, who left Tranmere in January, then went on to have a loan spell at Swindon Town where he made 17 appearances and has recently been released by his parent club Oldham Athletic.


“I have every faith in the lads that they can finish the job off. I have not got a bad word to say about Tranmere. I really enjoyed my time there, and they are a great set of lads.” Ollie Banks said.


“It depends what the frame of mind the players are in, but I am sure that they will all want to put last season’s disappointment behind them with a win!”


“The staff and the fans were fantastic and they deserve to have something to shout about come Saturday teatime.”


“But I really think there is enough passion in the side that they will go and get the job done.” The midfielder added.


Tomorrow will be a match where there will be a lot of familiar faces around, and Banks is making the trip down South to get behind the boys in white!


“I am going tomorrow to support Tranmere! I’m not sure where my ticket says it is for but I hope I am in with the Tranmere fans!” He said.


Banks released from Oldham Athletic a week ago refuses to rule out a return to Prenton Park either in the immediate or long-term future.

“I would never rule anything out. I loved my time at Tranmere and I would like to return one day. Whether it is this summer or in the future, it is definitely somewhere that I would like to play again.” Banks said.

Last week, Tranmere Rovers came from behind twice to beat Ebbsfleet United, and Banks admits that they are all tough matches, no matter who the opposition is.


“I don’t think it matters, who it is in the final. They are all big strong sides in and around the playoffs, and are tough to beat on the day, as was proven last week against Ebbsfleet.”


“They (Tranmere) have obviously shown a lot of character to come from behind twice in the Semi Final and then win comfortably in the end.”


The supporters this season at Prenton Park have been at their best, supporting the team, Banks urges them on to continue that tomorrow.


“There is a massive crowd and with it being a cup final, it can be an intimidating atmosphere when the Tranmere supporters get behind the team, which is very noticeable as a player,” he said.

2 views0 comments
bottom of page