top of page
  • Aidan Thomas Jones

EXCLUSIVE: OLLIE BANKS INTERVIEW AFTER HIS RECALL TO OLDHAM ATHLETIC

Updated: Jan 13, 2019

Oldham Athletic midfielder believes that it was heart-warming to see what the Tranmere supporters had to say about him following his recall to his parent club.


“Obviously it is nice to be subject of such good words. Everyone thought that I had a positive impact since I came in. It is nice, and refreshing that they thought that about me.”

[caption id="attachment_863" align="alignright" width="496"]


📷 Credit: Tranmere Rovers FC[/caption]


Ollie Banks spoke about how much he had to impress the team at Tranmere Rovers, because if he had not then it would have only meant that he had not done what he set out to do.


“When you as a player come into somewhere on loan you feel as though you have to impress, dropping down a couple of leagues. If I had come and not impressed, then it would only do damage to myself really.”


Following Oldham Athletic requesting that Banks should return to them ahead of the trip to Charlton on Saturday, Banks real iterated his desire to play first team football.


“I just love playing football for Tranmere and obviously Oldham wanted me back and Richie is well within his rights to do so. I just got on with it, I always give 100% for whoever I am playing for.” He said.


“If I had gone back to Oldham and played or come on as substitute then I would have tried my best. At the end of the day like Richie said in his interview, they pay my wages so that is what I have got to do.” Banks added.


Oldham Athletic manager Richie Wellens said in his press conference "If there is a permanent deal there for Ollie we'll do it, but at the moment he's under contract at Oldham Athletic."


Ollie Banks reacted to that, and believes that it tells him what he is and is not allowed to do now Wellens has made that statement.


“I have had a few different people say different things to me and it is quite hard to get a straight answer. Seeing that in black and white now then that has made things clearer.” Banks said.


“Hopefully over the next few weeks or before the end of the transfer window then I can get something sorted which is obviously what Oldham want.” The midfielder added.


After reports that Banks enjoyed the scenery on the Wirral, Banks has said that he would be open to a return back to Prenton Park should it come into consideration.


“Tranmere is definitely a place that I would like to come back to. Although it is a step outside the football league, it is a massive club with a massive fan base.


I think it was around seven thousand that came to the home games, it is not a club that belongs in the conference.”


Banks believes that the National League is still a good league even though it is outside the Football League.


“The conference is a good league, there is a lot of good teams and good players in it. I just play my football as best as I can wherever I am, I try my best to adapt to the playing style.


There might be a few more clips to the ankles but that is about it that is different.”


Ollie Banks came to Tranmere Rovers towards the end of November and did manage to get off the mark in his last game of the loan spell, but also played very well in the middle of midfield during his time at the club.


He reinforces the fact that he arrived at the club with no match fitness and was very happy to get out of the loan what he did manage to in the end.


“I came to Tranmere with not much confidence, no match fitness and I had not played for a good few months. I did not know really what to expect.”


“I was hoping to firstly get into the team and then play on from there really. I was not expecting the positive response that I got from the fans at Tranmere.”


“It is really nice and is nice to be wanted.”


When Banks did eventually get his goal at Fylde, he felt disappointed with the result and indeed the fact that he was unable to put it right the game after due to his recall.


“I felt that it has been coming for a few weeks, I was saying to a few people that I think I will score tomorrow and it happened. It was nice to get off the mark.” The midfielder said.


“It was not a good performance all round against Fylde, but it was not good for me because I was not there to put it right the week after.” He added.


[caption id="attachment_862" align="alignright" width="401"]📷 Credit: Tranmere Rovers FC[/caption]


Preparations for the game at Barrow were well underway for Banks when he got the call from his manager at Oldham.


“I only got the call on Friday afternoon, I had packed up my stuff at the training ground as I was preparing for the game to Barrow on Saturday.”


Banks, living out of the area did find the commuting difficult but believes that the support he received from everyone at the club made it all worth the hassle.


“The travelling was pretty hard, but when you have the support from the staff players and the fans then it makes the travelling all worthwhile and it did not bother me.”


Banks believes that the fact that the supporters, players and staff wanted him at the club helped him massively.


“It is nice; it is human nature to be wanted. When you are wanted then it has an effect on you.”


When you have not played for a long time then it can be difficult to get through a full ninety minutes, so my move at Tranmere helped me a lot!”

0 views0 comments
bottom of page