top of page
  • Aidan Thomas Jones

Otis Khan doesn’t rule out staying with Rovers as he sings the praises of the SWA

Midfielder Otis Khan, despite being out of contract this summer, has expressed his love for Tranmere Rovers, the Super White Army; and hasn’t ruled out an extension of his contract, with negotiations ongoing.


Khan signed for Tranmere last summer on a free transfer after leaving Mansfield Town and was one of the key players in a white shirt in the last campaign.


“I had a great season at Tranmere, I have loved everything about that club if I am honest.


“My agent has been liaising with the club. I don’t deal with that stuff, I am just training and doing what I need to do to be ready, wherever I am going to be next season.
“I have had a good time so far, even though the season didn’t pan out the way we wanted it to, I felt like I had a really good season and I think I connected with the club well, so we will have to just see what happens”, Khan said.

Khan was starved of the Super White Army inside Prenton Park for most of the season and only really experienced the roar of the fans in the play-offs against Morecambe, but that was enough to feed his hunger.


“It is such a shame that the fans were not inside the ground last season, I don’t feel like I’ve fully experienced the Super White Army effect because of that. Some of the lads who have been there for a while banged on about how good the fans are and how the promotions felt with the fans.


“I got to see what the fans were like for the Morecambe game in the play-offs, even though the game didn’t go the way we wanted it to, the fans were amazing.


“Everyone involved with the club really, the backroom staff, even down to the cook. Jay Spearing, Feens (Liam Feeney), Clarkey (Peter Clarke), Scotty (Scott Davies), they were all great with me and I have made some really good friends there”, he said.


Khan spoke about what makes a player want to join Tranmere,and he said that for him it was that Super White Army feeling, and revealed it would be a main reason if he extended his stay at Prenton Park.


“When any player signs for Tranmere, the first thing they say is the fan base. Everyone knows up and down the country what Tranmere is like. When you are asked: What is the main attraction for the club? - it is the fans.“

“If I was to stay at the club, it is one of the big reasons why I would want to stay. It would be a special feeling to have that proper connection with the fans.


“Even in the Morecambe game, when things weren’t going our way the fans did their best to get behind us and it gave me goosebumps.

“When you are an opposition player, going to Prenton Park was always a tough place to go to. A packed Prenton Park and that has always stood out too me.


“It is one big community, the players and the fans everyone is together”, Khan said.

423 views0 comments
bottom of page